Tips

Savings Thanks to your Cruise Control

Most cars are equipped with a cruise control to allow you not to exceed limits when driving on highways. Drivers can therefore focus their attention on road hazards rather than worry about respecting limits. No more excuses for inadvertently exceeded limits!

Did you know that in addition to ensuring your safety, your cruise control can help you save money? Here is how.

Obtain a Discount on Your Auto Insurance

To pay less auto insurance, set your cruise control to under 18 km/h above the speed limit. In the Mobiliz program, the speed criteria can in itself, decrease your monthly premium by 15%. It’s simple: respecting speed limits = more money in your pockets.

Less Frequent Fill-Ups

When you are on cruise control, you are not continually pressing the accelerator and brake. And as you know, your car’s accelerator consumes a lot of gas.

Studies reveal that maintaining a constant speed greatly lowers fuel consumption. In fact, it is more effective, energy-wise, to maintain your speed at 90 km/h than to alternately drive at 100 km/h and at 80 km/h.

Avoid Speeding Tickets

It’s vacation time. The weather is great and the road is clear. And then, oops! We realize we got distracted by the music and were driving way beyond the speed limit. Luckily there was no police around. That was a close call.

Everyone has experienced this situation at some point. But the unlucky few did end up with a speeding ticket. To avoid hefty speeding tickets, you are better off setting your cruise control on the highway.

Falling in a Car from the 14th Floor

Imagine you are in your car and you fall from the 14th floor. No, it is not a part of an action movie script.

It is actually an example to illustrate how violent an accident occurring at 100 km/h can be. In comparison, an accident at 50 km/h is equivalent to a 4-floor fall.

This data, from the Société d’assurance auto du Québec (SAAQ), is striking and reveals that speed increases risk of injury and fatal accidents.

Conseils

Des économies grâce à ton régulateur de vitesse

La plupart des autos sont dotées d’un régulateur de vitesse ou « cruise control » qui permet de ne pas dépasser les limites lorsqu’on roule sur l’autoroute. L’attention du conducteur se porte ainsi sur les aléas de la route plutôt que sur le stress de devoir respecter les limites. Plus de raison de dépasser les limites par inadvertance!

Savais-tu qu’en plus d’assurer ta sécurité, ton régulateur de vitesse peut te faire économiser?
Voici comment :

Obtiens un rabais sur ton assurance auto

Pour payer moins cher d’assurance auto, fixe ton régulateur de vitesse à moins de 18 km/h au-dessus de la vitesse permise. Dans le programme Mobiliz, le critère de la vitesse peut à lui seul faire diminuer ta facture mensuelle de 15 %. C’est simple : respecter les limites de vitesse = plus d’argent dans tes poches.

Fais le plein d’essence moins souvent

En te mettant sur le « cruise control », tu évites d’avoir continuellement le pied sur l’accélérateur et sur le frein. Et on le sait, l’accélérateur de notre auto consomme beaucoup d’essence.

Il a été démontré que maintenir une vitesse constante réduit de beaucoup la consommation d’essence d’une auto. En effet, il est plus efficace, d’un point de vue énergétique, de maintenir ta vitesse à 90 km/h que de rouler en alternance à 100 km/h et à 80 km/h.

Évite les contraventions

C’est le temps des vacances, il fait beau et la route est belle. Et puis, oups! On réalise qu’on s’est laissé distraire par la musique et qu’on roule bien au-delà de la vitesse permise. Heureusement, aucune police en vue. On l’a échappé belle.

Cette situation nous est tous déjà arrivée. Pour les malchanceux parmi nous, ça s’est terminé avec une contravention. Pour éviter les contraventions salées, vaut mieux mettre son régulateur de vitesse sur l’autoroute.

Tomber du 14e étage en auto

Imagine que tu es dans ton auto et que tu tombes du 14e étage.

Non, ce n’est pas le scénario d’un film d’action. Il s’agit plutôt d’un exemple pour illustrer la violence d’un accident qui survient à 100 km/h. À titre comparatif, un accident à 50 km/h équivaut à une chute de 4 étages.

Ces données, provenant de la Société d’assurance auto du Québec (SAAQ), sont frappantes et démontrent que la vitesse augmente le risque de blessures et d’accidents mortels.